Take Drab Windows & Turn Into Fab Frames

A fun and easy way to add a focal point to your room is to turn old windows into picture frames! It can be a cheap and fun project to add some color and meaning to your living space. This idea is particularly popular on social media sites right now, but not many sites offer directions. Having tried the project myself, I thought I’d share some tips and tricks for my fellow crafters.

Below is a picture of two of my finished frames. I chose to add a pop of color to my room with these frames. My company always enjoys hearing about these pieces of art!

1. Find a Window-

Finding a window was not too difficult for me. Better yet, my windows were free. I found them at an old cabin up North in Ely, Minnesota. One of the owners was redoing his cabin, and generously offered me the windows. Not only are they a good reminder of my trip, but they are perfect for my living room! Others choose to find a window that holds a piece of their family history or a special part of their past. Craigslist and Ebay offer many different options to purchase windows. You can also find them for free on those two sites!

GetMedia

  • Choose a single slotted window for a single picture, piece of artwork, or large photo
  • Choose multiple slotted windows for a different effect
  • Make sure the window can be hung or displayed- this means that the wood shouldn’t be rotting and the window panes should be clear from cracks that could later cause an injury
  • If possible, stay clear from lead painted windows

2. Paint/Refurbish Your Windows-

The wooden frames I choose were in pretty good condition. Some people enjoy sanding them down for a smooth look, but I enjoyed the vintage feel. To keep my frames rustic, I chose two different paint colors and just painted over the existing paint. I also kept the old hinges on the windows. I thought it added some nice detail. I was not overly neat with my painting, and I like the overall effect it had on the frames. I also cleaned the glass panes before attaching the pictures.

3. Find Your Artwork/Photos-

For two of my frames, I added a bright yellow wallpaper behind the window pane. I then hung a small verse that I printed from my computer with green ribbon. For my multiple slotted window, I printed 6 different photos from my computer and used clear tape to attach them to the window pane. You can also add artwork, or professional photos. My photos look like they are “floating” because I chose to make them smaller then the window pane. You can also have them fill the entire space.

1379710_10202111171371929_1470297216_n

4. Hang Your Frame-

Remember that your window frame will most likely be extremely heavy. Use a good hanging kit for industrial hanging. Consider using up to three hangers to securely hang the frame. I decided to screw my frame directly to my walls. I used a long screw in all four corners and attached it to the wall this way.

Happy Crafting!

 

Sandy Erickson Real Estate Team

Keller Williams Integrity Realty

651-269-3487

Sandy@SandyErickson.com

http://www.ericksonteamhomesearch.com

 

One thought on “Take Drab Windows & Turn Into Fab Frames”

  1. I think the admin of this site is genuinely working hard for his web page, for the reason that here every material is quality based information.

Leave a Reply

